Option to delete your chat history granularly

(#911) Feature Shipped privacy

Problem

Currently (I'm guessing), your posts will only get deleted if you delete your account, or if you use the "Delete all my messages" button in the settings.

Proposed solution

It would be nice if we could have the option to delete all messages in a server, or in a channel. It would also be nice to take the fact that you can be forcibly removed from channels/servers into account - maybe a "You have messages in these servers" section in the settings, with a chance to delete them from there? Having a "Remove my presence" option when leaving a server would also be nice.

Notes (optional)

Making a bot/scraper/whatever to do this for you seems like a weird workaround.

2 comments

Sign in with Fluxer to comment and vote.
Comment by @Jiralite
RexSystem 1 vote originally by @Jiralite on GitHub
It is already possible to delete all your messages in user settings, is that what you are looking for?
Comment by @TheNamlessGuy
RexSystem 1 vote originally by @TheNamlessGuy on GitHub OP
It is already possible to delete all your messages in user settings, is that what you are looking for?
That's one of the options, yes. I'd prefer if I could get a more granular control though. Per community/channel, for example. Perhaps even an option to delete your entire presence in a server if you leave it, or some such? EDIT: Updated the OP to reflect the "Delete all my messages" button, as I had missed it.