Fullscreen gets soft-stuck after camera/microphone permission prompt in Firefox

(#875) Bug Needs triage voice

Observed behaviour

When triggering a microphone or camera test from a fullscreen call, without having granted permission to camera/mic the fullscreen exits and you can only click/hover on things when you press the Escape key, probably because it thinks it's still in fullscreen Additionally the popup always appears half off-screen, at least where I tested it on Niri - it moves back when I switch tabs and then switch back once --- this could just be a Firefox bug or issue that can't be resolved here?: image Not tested with any other DE and Browser

Reproduction steps

  1. Put call in fullscreen in Firefox
  2. Click three dots
  3. Open the audio/video settings via that menu
  4. Trigger camera or microphone test without yet having allowed access to either
  5. Block and accept the warning, or Allow
  6. Stuck without being able to click or hover until pressing the Escape key

Build information

Stable Web 2026.927.142037, Linux (x64), Firefox 156.0, Locale en-US

Platform

Web, Self-hosting

  • 659808176-895b8254-9d7e-4b94-8d21-d41f43b3b37f.png

    659808176-895b8254-9d7e-4b94-8d21-d41f43b3b37f.png

    432×130 | 13 kB

2 comments

Sign in with Fluxer to comment and vote.
Comment by @MathiasLui
RexSystem 1 vote originally by @MathiasLui on GitHub OP
Thanks! I retested with self-hosted Stable Web 2026.1003.155631, Linux (x64), Firefox 156.0 - looks good! Starting a microphone or camera test in full-screen without permissions now exits fullscreen and keeps the settings window open normally without getting stuck. Clicking "Allow" opens the desired window, and hitting "Block" shows a "permission required" dialog except in one specific case:
  1. Fullscreen call with no explicit mic permissions (in this case Firefox)
  2. Open settings and click the play button for the mic test
  3. It correctly exits fullscreen now - select "Block" for the browser permission prompt
  4. No "permission required" dialog opens
In non-fullscreen or using the other three buttons I do get the warning. Technically not part of this issue, though. I noticed some other small things - not sure if I should create issues for these:
  • Leaving the call normally shows the big channel-view box in the chat with the call still going on --- rejoining shows both parties in the "In voice chat" section in the corner ✅
  • Leaving the call by reloading the page does not show the channel-view box with the call (is this intended?), but the green reconnect-banner --- reconnecting does not show the other party in the "In voice chat" section until they trigger an action like toggling the camera or microphone
  • Leaving the call by reloading the page and clearing the cache sometimes additionally hides the green reconnect-banner (couldn't reliably trigger this)
  • After a bit of testing the regular way to exit a call (big red button) now also immediately hides the big channel-view box
My tests are done by calling myself from a different browser window and a different account.