Am able to DM people who aren't added to me even though I have my DM's Set to friends only

(#832) Bug Won't fix dms privacy

Observed behaviour

  • I told someone to dm me a link to a fluxy alternative since they said it might be better. But I didn't realize I never had them added, But they DM'ed me.
I have them added now but. that was strange. being able to message them without even being added I have 0 clue if this is reproducible I don't think the fact I'm currently on A Virtual Machine/outdated desktop build, should affect this

Reproduction steps

1, Turn off DM's for community Members 2, Have someone in a community that isn't a friend, DM you 3, Should go through if this is reproducible

Build information

Canary Desktop 2026.902.43955, Web 2026.911.210200, Windows 11 10.0.26200 (x64), Electron 42.10.0, Chrome 148.0.7778.280, Node 24.18.1, Locale de

Platform

Web

Evidence

I have them added now so i can only show the message itself image image
  • 650607519-2d1d0325-0c18-4325-aad2-1c756a003cc2.png

    650607519-2d1d0325-0c18-4325-aad2-1c756a003cc2.png

    1000×259 | 25 kB

  • 650609796-a075cc50-6607-4f18-afdd-ed5a6ea0d116.png

    650609796-a075cc50-6607-4f18-afdd-ed5a6ea0d116.png

    1470×790 | 345 kB

2 comments

Sign in with Fluxer to comment and vote.
Comment by Rex
RexSystem 1 vote
Status changed from Fixed to Won't fix
Staff found the DM came through a per-community privacy override and closed it as working as intended.
Comment by Hampus
HampusStaff 1 vote originally by @hampus-fluxer on GitHub
Your DMs are currently open in two communities: Fluxer.js and PluralFlux Support. The user in your screenshot shares a mutual community with you in Fluxer.js, which is why they were able to DM you despite not being on your friends list. If you would rather not have these manual overrides, you can right-click on the individual communities in the sidebar on desktop and go to Privacy Settings to remove them. Alternatively, you can go to your main user settings and toggle "Allow direct messages" off and then on again. This will give you the option to apply the setting across all your communities, including the two that were missed. Closing this, as it is working as intended upon further inspection!