Status changed from Needs info to ConfirmedStatusNeeds info→Confirmed
CR: Canary Desktop 2026.1101.10907, Web 2026.1101.35229, Linux 7.2.11-200.fc44.x86_64 (x64), Electron 44.10.0, Chrome 152.0.7977.169, Node 24.22.1, Locale en-US on the main fluxer.app instance.
The specific steps that need to happen to reproduce this manually are:
Account A = Admin
Account B = User
Account A creates a channel category
Account A sets the channel category permission to deny View channel to @everyone
By this point, Account B needs to open the community and be looking at it
Account A clicks to create a channel inside the category
Click the radio button for Private channel and fill out a name
Grant a specific user or role access to the channel
Account B will see no change to the channel list until refresh
This issue does not get reproduced if you create a channel inside the category and subsequently change the channel's permissions at that stage. You must initially create the channel as a Private channel for this to occur. It's likely the bot used in the initial report is doing something similar to this. I am guessing clients are set to automatically refresh channel visibility on any permission change, but are not refreshing when new channels are created in categories they already cannot see.
Thread
Comment by Fullest
- Account A creates a channel category
- Account A sets the channel category permission to deny View channel to @everyone
- By this point, Account B needs to open the community and be looking at it
- Account A clicks to create a channel inside the category
- Click the radio button for Private channel and fill out a name
- Grant a specific user or role access to the channel
- Account B will see no change to the channel list until refresh
This issue does not get reproduced if you create a channel inside the category and subsequently change the channel's permissions at that stage. You must initially create the channel as a Private channel for this to occur. It's likely the bot used in the initial report is doing something similar to this. I am guessing clients are set to automatically refresh channel visibility on any permission change, but are not refreshing when new channels are created in categories they already cannot see.