Reproduction steps
- Enable Developer Mode
- Send a message in a channel where you can create threads
- Create a thread from that message (Optionally, make sure to change the thread title so it is not the same as the OP to make step 6 easier)
- Delete the original message
- Right click the "Original message was deleted" message
- Click
Debug Message - See the original message's contents in debug
Expected behaviour
A deleted message should remain deleted, and should not be possible to resurface using the debug message functionality
Actual behaviour
The deleted message can be found. Video demonstration attached.
Note: It seems like the contents do truly disappear upon a refresh, so the message debug is probably pulling this info from the cache. Probably not as big of a deal as I feared.
Build information
Canary Desktop 2026.1018.183012, Web 2026.1018.183012, Linux 7.2.10-200.fc44.x86_64 (x64), Electron 44.4.1, Chrome 152.0.7977.78, Node 24.21.0, Locale en-US
Platform
macOS, Windows, Linux, Web
Comments
No comments yet.