Edit history

Earlier versions of Original content of a deleted thread OP can be found in Message Debug, newest first.

Current version | Edited by Fullest
Changes
Actual behaviourThe deleted message can be found. Video demonstration attached.Added: Note: It seems like the contents do truly disappear upon a refresh, so the message debug is probably pulling this info from the cache. Probably not as big of a deal as I feared.Added:
Show

Original content of a deleted thread OP can be found in Message Debug

Reproduction steps

  1. Enable Developer Mode
  2. Send a message in a channel where you can create threads
  3. Create a thread from that message (Optionally, make sure to change the thread title so it is not the same as the OP to make step 6 easier)
  4. Delete the original message
  5. Right click the "Original message was deleted" message
  6. Click Debug Message
  7. See the original message's contents in debug

Expected behaviour

A deleted message should remain deleted, and should not be possible to resurface using the debug message functionality

Actual behaviour

The deleted message can be found. Video demonstration attached. Note: It seems like the contents do truly disappear upon a refresh, so the message debug is probably pulling this info from the cache. Probably not as big of a deal as I feared.

Build information

Canary Desktop 2026.1018.183012, Web 2026.1018.183012, Linux 7.2.10-200.fc44.x86_64 (x64), Electron 44.4.1, Chrome 152.0.7977.78, Node 24.21.0, Locale en-US

Platform

macOS, Windows, Linux, Web

Original by Fullest
Show

Original content of a deleted thread OP can be found in Message Debug

Reproduction steps

  1. Enable Developer Mode
  2. Send a message in a channel where you can create threads
  3. Create a thread from that message (Optionally, make sure to change the thread title so it is not the same as the OP to make step 6 easier)
  4. Delete the original message
  5. Right click the "Original message was deleted" message
  6. Click Debug Message
  7. See the original message's contents in debug

Expected behaviour

A deleted message should remain deleted, and should not be possible to resurface using the debug message functionality

Actual behaviour

The deleted message can be found. Video demonstration attached.

Build information

Canary Desktop 2026.1018.183012, Web 2026.1018.183012, Linux 7.2.10-200.fc44.x86_64 (x64), Electron 44.4.1, Chrome 152.0.7977.78, Node 24.21.0, Locale en-US

Platform

macOS, Windows, Linux, Web