This appears to be a UX issue! The banner in-app doesn't tell you if the email has been sent yet or not on a new session. It only changes to "resend email" after you click on it once. So therefore it sent it twice, once automatically on sign-up, another when you rightfully were prompted to send the email, even though it already did so. I'll get this fixed!
Thread
Comment by Hampus