Muting a channel should probably mark the channel as read

(#4085) Feature Open: Under consideration channels desktop messaging mobile ui

Current problem

Currently, if you mute a channel it retains its unreads. This has the undesirable side effect that if you enable the setting in that community to hide muted channels, the now-muted channel that still has unreads is still visible because of the unreads.

Proposed change

I propose that when you mute a channel (and maybe even category?) it should also mark that channel as read. Muting a channel is a pretty intentional action by the user, and forcing them to take that extra action to mark as read just to be able to hide the channel is a bit unintuitive and feels unnecessary.

Platform

macOS, Windows, Linux, Web, Android, iOS

2 comments

Sign in with Fluxer to comment and vote.
Comment by Zenny
Zenny 1 vote
This sounds a little unintuitive to me also though. It probably wouldn't matter to anyone in the end but I wouldn't expect messages to be read by marking as muted, I would expect if I mute and unmute, it be in the same state I left it. Of course, the longer it's left this way usually it would be untrue anyway since usually chat platforms have some kind of skip-ahead mechanic when you haven't read a channel in days and that's why I think it ultimately wouldn't be noticed, but just a thought