Add additional protection for deletion of channels or servers

(#3894) Feature Open: Under consideration channels moderation

Current problem

Currently, a rouge admin can delete/nuke a server either by deleting all of the channels, or by deleting the server itself, with no option of recovery

Proposed change

I think it would be useful to have a setting that's enabled that would either require a second admin/moderator to confirm the actions (requiring 2+ people to delete a channel or a server), Or to have a configurable 24 hour-1 week lock for those actions. So if a rouge moderator attempted to delete a channel, it would be placed into a "deletion pending" state for 72 hours, or whatever was set. The channel would be set as read only, and there would be an option to cancel the deletion from the moderators or admins. This way, if a moderator tries to nuke a server while the admin is at work, the admin has time to correct the situation. Also, I would make it so once you turn on that setting for the server, you can't turn off that setting until that same amount of time has passed (preventing someone from lowering the amount of time to just 24 hours, and then deleting everything)

Platform

macOS, Windows, Linux, Web, Android, iOS, API, Self-hosting

Comments

Sign in with Fluxer to comment and vote.

No comments yet.