Deleting message appears in activity logs but bulk delete does not

(#3478) Bug Needs triage moderation

Observed behaviour

Deleting your own message leaves a traceable record of your deletion (no evidence of the content, just the time at which something was deleted) for moderators. This appears to be intentional and assists with moderation. Example of the moderation case I speak of:
  1. Raider joins server while moderator is away.
  2. Spams the chat with inappropriate language (e.g. racial slurs) while moderator is looking away.
  3. Raider deletes own messages before moderator comes back.
  4. A user claims there are deleted messages, raider claims to have deleted nothing.
  5. Moderator checks audit log, observes they did, bans them.
Bulk deleting your messages makes no such traceable record in the activity logs.

Reproduction steps

  1. Create new channel in community
  2. Post message in channel
  3. Delete message
  4. Check activity logs (you will see a record of this deletion)
  5. Post another message in that channel
  6. Secondary-click (right click on desktop, hold down on mobile) on the channel and use the "delete my messages" function.
  7. Check activity logs (you will not see a record of this deletion)

Build information

Canary Desktop 2026.1001.230506, Web 2026.1004.174922, Linux 7.0.0-34-generic (x64), Electron 44.4.1, Chrome 152.0.7977.78, Node 24.21.0, Locale en-GB

Platform

macOS, Windows, Linux

1 comment

Sign in with Fluxer to comment and vote.
Comment by @notgapriel
RexSystem 1 vote originally by @notgapriel on GitHub OP
Unsure if "Bug report" is the correct place to log perceived oversights. It seems like a bug but if there's a better way to categorise this issue please do so