Users who left a group voice call still appear connected

(#2996) Bug Confirmed desktop voice

Observed behaviour

Even when the Fluxer instance that is connected to the call left, the VC interface still thinks that a device is still connected to the call. I suspect that these ghost instances are created whenever you perform an action on Fluxer that could trigger a loading screen in the PWA (Scrolling, Uploading Media, Searching). Therefore, this bug is more pronounced in the PWA, but it still exists in the Desktop App as proven by my experiences. In addition, I suspect that this bug is the grandfather of other VC-related bugs such as random disconnects, voice disconnects, etc. In those scenarios, the ghost instance may have taken over the main instance.

Reproduction steps

  1. Start a Group VC
  2. A user closes the group VC
  3. If their profile pic remains in the VC, the bug has been successfully replicated. Note: It may require multiple attempts.

Build information

Canary Desktop 2026.602.31138, Web 2026.605.11941, macOS 26.2.0 (arm64), Electron 41.2.2, Chrome 146.0.7680.188, Node 24.14.1, Locale en-US

Platform

macOS

Details

Expected behaviour The instance that initiated the VC should remain as the sole instance of that VC. It should not be changed without authorization from the user. Duplicates or "Ghost Instances" should not occur in any form.
  • 2026-06-08_07-03-52.png

    2026-06-08_07-03-52.png

    427×299 | 27 kB

  • 2026-06-08_07-03-17.png

    2026-06-08_07-03-17.png

    552×311 | 27 kB

  1. Rex changed the status from Needs triage to Confirmed

1 comment

Sign in with Fluxer to comment and vote.
Comment by ternera
terneraMod 1 vote
Can reproduce
  • CR, have observed users in VC a few times only to refresh and see they disappeared - Canary Desktop 2026.602.31138, Web 2026.605.11941, Windows 11 10.0.26200 (x64), Electron 41.2.2, Chrome 146.0.7680.188, Node 24.14.1, Locale en-US