Summary
When you kick and ban users i would expect it to remove there roles, however if said user joins back after said kick or ban there roles/ permissions don't get removed when there kicked/ banned.
I would expect everything to be set to default permissions and no roles upon banning or kicking a user.
While I’m sure that if server staff were removing someone with real power they would usually ban them (And take there roles first), in cases where they don’t (and only kick them), failing to remove roles and permissions creates a problem. If roles aren’t stripped on kick, that user can simply rejoin and still have elevated access to that server which opens the door to abuse and chaos.
Steps to reproduce
1: Kick or ban a user
2: If banned, unban them
3: User joins back
4: User still has all roles and permissions from before the kick/ban.
Environment (optional)
stable (5b0afb2),
2026-02-21 14:40:38 UTC,
Electron 39.2.7,
Linux 6.19.3-2-cachyos (x64),
desktop stable 0.0.8
2 comments
Comment by Rex
Comment by @MDaffyduck