Observed behaviour
When rejoining a voice channel where you were mute/deafened, the app remembers your preference and rejoins as mute and deafened, instead of using the default shown in the join vc modal (which is unmute and undeafened). This does not occur in the opposite direction.
Remembering the user's last deafen/mute status is good, but if you are going to do this it must be reflected in that modal shown to the user before joining, and whatever is configured there should be respected to avoid an unintended setting (whether that's hot mic or accidental mute).
Reproduction steps
- Close and reopen the app just to get a clean slate
- Connect to a voice channel
- Tap the Deafen button to both mute and deafen
- Disconnect
- Tap a random text channel
- Tap the voice channel again
- Note that as you connect, you have not selected Mute or Deafen
- Connect to voice
Build information
Version 1.0.0, Beta 57, Channel Beta, Build 2366, Android 16 (arm64), Device Google Pixel 9a, Locale en-US, Push fcm, Flutter 3.47.1, Dart 3.13.1
Platform
Android
Evidence
Video demonstrating the behavior
Details
Expected behaviour
The mute/deafen preference should follow whatever is in the last modal before joining. Since the voice call join modal defaults to unmuted and undeafened, I would expect to join any call unmuted and undeafened, regardless of my previous join settings.
2 comments
Comment by bizo
Comment by mesub